Innocent In Death by J.D. Robb (‘In Death’ series Book #24)

Berkley Mass Market

Format: Mass Market Paperbound - Published: August 9, 2007 - 400 Pages - ISBN: 042521754X - Published By: Berkley Mass Market

 

Innocent In Death

by J.D. Robb (pseudonym of Nora Roberts)

‘In Death’ series Book #24

Once again, Lt. Eve Dallas shows why she’s “New York City’s top murder cop” in Roberts’s 24th thriller under her Robb pseudonym set half a century into the future (after 2006’s Born in Death). Dallas tries to close a case at the exclusive Sarah Child Academy, where two bright 10-year-old girls discover the body of Craig Foster, a popular history teacher who proves to have been poisoned by ricin-laced cocoa.

Dallas wonders if another staff member or a parent might be involved, but after the prime suspect, a promiscuous teacher who’s been harassing another employee, turns up dead, the investigation takes a shocking turn. Besides a provocative puzzler, Robb provides an intense relationship update on Dallas and Roarke, her Irish power broker hubby, whose dark past – in the form of a crooked ex-girlfriend – returns to cause trouble. This prolific author, a recent Quills romance winner, is still at the top of her game.

Review: Another excellent book in the series!

The plot was well written, and I found it just as difficult to swallow as the characters in the book. I really liked that.

The side plot was excellent as well. A couple needs a fight every now and again, and I’m glad it turned out the way it did, I think, for both, Eve and Roarke.

Peabody and McNabb are their usual selves, and the, um, “struggles” I guess you could say, between Even and Summerset – in this book, Fantastic!

This is definitely a series you need to read from the beginning, or you’ll never understand why Eve and Roarke are the way they are. Trust me – I made that mistake. I started with Book #17, Immitation In Death, not knowing that it was part of a series. You best believe I corrected that right quick and in a hurry. It took 2 months, but I caught up with the entire series and am constantly on pins and needles waiting for the next book.

Yes, this series is set in the future, but the way Robb writes it, you’re not overwhelmed, and everything is believable. The mysteries/cases are intriguing, this novel as well, and the everyday interaction is no different than if it were in the present time.

Another excellent book! Stupid me, I did what I swore I won’t do – I read the excerpt of the next novel at the back of the book. Darnit! The Hardcover is out in November ’07, which means I gotta wait another six months on top of that for the paperback. Aargh, this is gonna drive me crazy, LOL!

Rating:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2009/02/06/innocent-in-death-by-jd-robb-in-death-series-book-24/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

