Don’t Look Now by Linda Lael Miller (‘Clare Westbrook’ series Book #1)

Simon & Schuster

Format: Mass Market Paperbound - Published: June 29, 2004 - 448 Pages - ISBN: 067104253X - Published By: Simon & Schuster

 

Don’t Look Now

by Linda Lael Miller

‘Clare Westbrook’ series Book #1

Defense attorney Clare Westbrook functions very well in crisis mode – whether taking the media rap for an explosive case or bargaining with her teenage niece, whom Clare is raising. But a shocking crime – the murder of her unethical boss – is about to test her heart and soul: heading the homicide investigation is irresistibly sexy detective Tony Sonterra. Now, a passion that is as risky as it is addictive pulls Clare into the crosshairs of a deadly mystery from the past. As the truth closes in and it becomes clear someone’s targeting her, Clare and Tony embark on a twisting chase in the Arizona heat, where their dangerous desire sparks a determined hunt for a killer.

Review: I finished this novel on Tuesday, July 24th, 2007. Not bad for the first in the series.

I thought Clare was a strong, determined woman; in a world ruled mostly by men, she holds her own, while raising her 13-year-old niece. Stubborn to a fault, she does what she needs to do, regardless if that puts herself in harms way.

I liked how Miller wrote the character of Clare’s niece. She acted like a 13-year-old would act, and I appreciated it.

And Tony… Yeah, if I was single, I’d be going for a man like that myself. Tenacious, I loved the sarcasm, and the anger when he doesn’t get his way or when Clare’s being difficult.

I thought the plot was good, I liked the twists, and I’m not sure if it was just me, but I found that the synopsis of the book added a little more flavour to what was really there. Don’t get me wrong, I thought the book was great, enough action of different kinds and enough twists that the book doesn’t lose your attention, but I was expecting a little more ‘oomph’.

Rating:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2009/02/02/dont-look-now-by-linda-lael-miller-clare-westbrook-series-book-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

