Deja Dead by Kathy Reichs (‘Temperance Brennan’ series Book #1)

Simon & Schuster

Format: Mass Market Paperbound - Published: April 26, 2005 - 560 Pages - ISBN: 1416510559 - Published By: Simon & Schuster

 

Deja Dead

by Kathy Reichs

‘Temperance Brennan’ series Book #1

In the year since Tempe left behind a shaky marriage in North Carolina, work has often preempted her weekend plans to explore Quebed. But when an unidentified female corpse is discovered meticulously dismembered and stashed in garbage bags, Tempe detects an alarming pattern within the grisly handiwork – and her professional detachment gives way to a harrowing search for a killer in the city’s winding streets. With little help from the police, Tempe calls on her expertise, honed in the isolated intensity of the autopsy suite, to investigate on her own. But her determined chase is about the place those closest to her – her best friend and her daughter – in mortal danger…

Review: Finished July 27th, 2006. I thoroughly enjoyed this book from start to finish, and I’m glad I’ve got the series at home. I think I’m beyond hooked. If this series gets better and better, it’ll be right up there on my list of faves, that’s for sure! Crystal said, “Patricia Cornwell, eat your heart out!” I wholeheartedly and completely agree with that.

I loved Tempe’s character; the way she grips on with both hands and doesn’t let go. I wonder if a budding romance is starting between Tempe and Ryan. Bu the sounds of it, he’s really cute, not to mention smart. I think Claudel deserves a swift kick in the arse and then some. I found him to be a really big S.O. B. with an extremely huge chip on his shoulder, and I wonder if he has something against Tempe, or against women in general. Reichs knows how to create her characters; each on is as different as night and day, with personalities that shout at you from each page. The setting, Montreal, is totall awesome! My brother-in-law lives there with his wife and her daughter, and my dad’s from Sherbrooke, Quebec, and I’ve been to Quebec City as a child and remember some of it. It’s awesome to have a setting so greatly described, and in an area I know. There’s nothing like it!

What I really, really enjoyed, was how the jobs were described. Unbelievable in detail, you could swear you’re standing next to Tempe throughout the whole thing; whether she’s examining bones or with someone else in the department examining evidence. Much, much better than Patricia Cornwell, and I can’t remember reading a fictional forensic novel that gives so much in detail. If what I’ve been told and what I’ve read is true, and her novels only get better and better, I know I’m going to thoroughly enjoy Reichs’ Temperance Brennan series.

Rating:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2009/02/02/deja-dead-by-kathy-reichs-temperance-brennan-series-book-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

