The Face of Deception by Iris Johansen (‘Eve Duncan’ series Book #1)

Bantam

Format: Mass Market Paperbound - Published: June 1, 1999 - 480 Pages - ISBN: 0553578022 - Published By: Bantam

 

The Face of Deception

by Iris Johansen

‘Eve Duncan’ series Book #1

An unidentified skull…

A trail of terrifying secrets…

And a woman whose talented hands could reveal the shocking truth…

As a forensic sculptor, Eve Duncan helps identify the dead from their skulls. Her own daughter murdered and her body never found, the job is Eve’s way of coming to terms with her personal nightmare. But more terror lies ahead when she accepts work from a billionaire John Logan. Beneath her gifted hands a face emerges from the skull he has given her to reconstruct – a face no one was ever meant to see. Now Eve is trapped in a frightening web of murder and deceit. Powerful enemies are determined to cover up the truth, and they will make certain that truth goes to the grave … even if Eve gets buried with it.

Review: I finished this book early Wednesday, May 30th, 2007. The first in the ‘Eve Duncan’ series, I thought it was a great first book.

I really liked Eve as the main character; true-to-life, you understand her completely. You feel her vulnerability as well as her strength.

I’m still not sure about Joe Quinn. I know he’s supposed to be Eve’s best friend, guard, savior, but I didn’t like him completely. His attitude was much to be desired. 

Now Logan is another character altogether. Unsure of his intentions at first, I still had this gut feeling about him, and I was right. Complex, manipulative, has his own agenda, and I think he’s the perfect match for Eve, but that’s my opinion.

I thought the plot was good, with a small twist at the end that I really didn’t see coming. And I learned a lot more about forensic sculpting than I actually knew. A good read.

Rating: .25

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2009/01/31/the-face-of-deception-by-iris-johansen-eve-duncan-series-book-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

