Over the Moon (anthology) by Angela Knight, MaryJanice Davidson, Virginia Kantra and Sunny

Berkley

Format: Mass Market Paperbound - Published: December 14, 2006 - 336 Pages - ISBN: 0425213439 - Publisher: Berkley

 

Over the Moon

by Angela Knight, MaryJanice Davidson, Virginia Kantra and Sunny

Anthology

Four erotically charged novellas featuring lycanthropic characters offer diverse takes on shape-shifters.

Knight’s “Moon Dance” is about Elena, a member of the Chosen, those descended from the people changed into were-dire wolves by Merlin.

Virginia Kantra’s “Between the Mountain and the Moon” tells the story of a librarian’s daughter who meets a mysterious man on the Appalachian Trail who takes her to Faerie. When he is turned into a wolf to be killed by the Wild Hunt, she returns in an attempt to save him.

“Driftwood”, MaryJanice Davidson’s sassy tale of a loner werewolf who meets an angry vampire at the bottom of a deep hole will delight her fans.

The fourth story, “Mona Lisa Three,” by Sunny, features a new mixed-blood queen of the shape-shifting Monere who has the power of healing through orgasm.

This collection will have great appeal for readers who like step-by-step accounts of sexual encounters.

Review: I started and finished this one on Saturday, June 23rd, 2007. All parts of a series (somewhat,) and not bad at all!

Now, let’s face it, there hasn’t been a story by Angela Knight that I didn’t like. This one was all right. Not the best I’ve read but not the worst. I wish there’s been a little more to it. The couple came together way too fast, way too easy. Both knew what they wanted in life. The sex scenes and action scenes were well played out. Not bad at all!

The next was Virginia Kantra. While the name strikes me familiar, I can’t remember if I’ve ever read anything of hers. What I read here, though, I really liked. ‘He’ gives himself up to save the girl. Her parents should have been honest with her. She goes back to save him. The perfect story. It was well written, the characters strong, a fantastic read. 

Story #3 was by MaryJanice Davidson. Now, I’ve read a couple of her ‘short-stories/anthologies’, and the more I read, the more I wanted to get some of her books. But I really didn’t like this one. It held nothing for me at all, and I don’t know why. I really didn’t feel a connection between the two main characters at all. To me, it felt like they ended up together cause it was just the way it was; I didn’t fee anything between them. And the end didn’t suit. You understand why she’s going after the vamp who turned her and killed her friend, but the end of this story turned off what spark I had. I wasn’t impressed … and you have no idea how hard it is for me to say that.

The last, by Sunny, was pretty neat. I’m actually thinking of picking up her novels. I could have done without one of the sex scenes in the story. Not that there was something wrong with it, and I like a menage-a-trois (written tastefully) as much as the next person, but this one really didn’t do it for me. But the entire story was intriguing. I’d never read her before, but I do believe I’ll be picking up the ‘Monere’ series. I thought the characters strong – sort of like Laurell K. Hamilton’s ‘Anita Blake’ series, but not quite. It has its own breath, its own appeal. I liked it!

Rating:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2009/01/31/over-the-moon-anthology-by-angela-knight-maryjanice-davidson-virginia-kantra-and-sunny/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

