Cold Hit by Linda Fairstein (‘Alex Cooper’ series Book #4)

Pocket

Format: Mass Market Paperbound - Published: January 1, 2003 - 464 Pages - ISBN: 0671019554 - Published By: Pocket

 

Cold Hit

by Linda Fairstein

‘Alex Cooper’ series Book #3

Renowned sex-crimes prosecutor and bestselling author Linda Fairstein sends her acclaimed heroine – the stylish and steely-nerved D.A. Alexandra Cooper – on a hunt for a killer inside New York City’s glizty art world.

Alexandra Cooper has seen many murder victims, but few more disturbing than the silk-clad body of a woman, her hands and feet tied to a ladder, pulled from the turbulent waters at Manhattan’s northern tip. With her colleagues, including NYPD detectives Mike Chapmand and Mercer Wallace, Alex races against the clock and hoopes for a “cold hit” – a DNA match that would reveal the identity of the murderer by linking the crime to someone already in the police database. But as the case pulls her into the exclusive world of East Side auction houses and cutting-edge Chelsea galleries, Alex discovers she may be marked as an expendable commodity in a chilling and deadly scheme…

Review: Well, I’m not too sure what to make of this one. I mean, the action was good, to a certaine extent, I held my breath in a couple of places, but otherwise, it was a little too ‘literal’ for me. While I like art, I’m not huge into it, and probably couldn’t recognize a portrait right off the bat (other than Da Vinci’s Mona Lisa,) otherwise it’s way out of my league. Only a few interesting moments, but nothing worthwhile, which is a disappointment. This one was missing the ‘pizzazz’ of her first two novels. The same characters, Cooper, Chapman and Mercer, were right on as usual, but there were too many extra characters thrown into the book. I couldn’t really get a lead on who the ‘bad guy’ was, and I really don’t like that. I took a guess, and I was wrong, to say the least. There was way too much talk about restaurants; made me think of ‘creme-de-la-creme’ tour guide of the best/high-priced restaurants and booze in the New York/Manhattan area. The art was a focal point, so if you’re not into art, like me, you might find this a little on the boring side. I still feel more ‘electricity’ between Cooper and Chapman than I do Cooper and her current bea – seems to be missing something more than just that certain connection … to me, anyway. For me, I started to hit the ‘disappointment’ mark after the third book in Catherine Coulter’s ‘FBI’ series. I hope this series doesn’t disappoint me in the same manner.

Rating:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2009/01/23/cold-hit-by-linda-fairstein-alex-cooper-series-book-4/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

