Dead by Dusk by Shannon Drake (‘Vampire’ series Book #6)

Kensington

Format: Mass Market Paperbound - Published: January 1, 2005 - 384 Pages - ISBN: 0821775456 - Published By: Kensington

 

Dead by Dusk

by Shannon Drake (pseudonym of Heather Graham)

‘Vampire’ series Book #6

For American Stephanie Cahill, Bella Vista is a new beginning – a chance to put her painful past behind her. Yet, from the moment the first body is discovered at the site of an archeological dig, Stephanie feels as if she’s being watched, followed, studied … hunted.

Archeologist Grant Petersen senses something odd about this dig, something that has him locking his door at night. And now, the echoes of a burial site’s ancient legend can be found in the chilling signature of a killer on the loose.

The powerful attraction between Stephanie and Grant is a complication neither can afford as they are pulled into a desperate race against time to keep Stephanie from joining the ranks of the missing. For nothing in Bella Vista is what it seems. No one can be trusted. And those closest to Stephanie may prove the most dangerous of all…

Review: I finished this book Friday November 17th, 2006. I think maybe I should have liked it more than I did. The characters had their own distinct personalities, and I liked the story line and how it got to the end. The action and love scenes were the same as usual, terrific, but I didn’t enjoy it as much. It was lacking a little ‘oomph,’ but I can’t quite put my finger on what was wrong. Having read the rest of the series, I don’t know how many times the words: ‘what the hell?’, came out of my mouth. I got confused at certain points, but then it was made clear who was who, kind of like Drake saying: “Haha, I tricked you!” Several times, I kept thinking, where’s the link? I think maybe it should have been sooner, but then I think if it had been sooner, it might have taken away from the book. It was good, don’t get me wrong, but not as good as the rest of the series.

Rating:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2009/01/22/dead-by-dusk-by-shannon-drake-vampire-series-book-6/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

