The Innocent by Harlan Coben

Signet/NAL Mass Market

Format: Mass Market Paperbound - Published: April 7, 2006 - 528 Pages - ISBN: 045121577X - Published By: Signet/NAL Mass Market

 

The Innocent

by Harlan Coben

SOME MISTAKES CAN CHANGE YOUR LIFE FOREVER…

The horror of one night is forever etched in Matt Hunter’s memory; the night he innocently tried to break up a fight – and ended up a killer. Now nine years after his release from prison, his innocence long forgotten, he’s an ex-con who takes nothing for granted. With his wife Olivia pregnant and the two of them closing on a house in his home town, things are looking up. Until the day Matt gets a shocking inexplicable video call from Olivia’s phone. And in a instant, the unraveling begins.

A mysterious man who begins tailing Matt turns up dead. A beloved nun is murdered. And local and federal authorities – including homicide investigator, Loren Muse, a childhood schoolmate of Matt’s with a troubled past of her own – see all signs pointing to a former criminal with one murder already under his belt … Matt Hunter. Unwilling to lose everything for a second time, Matt and Olivia are forced outside the law in a desperate attempt to save their future together.

An electrifying thrill-ride of a novel that peeks behind the white picket fences of suburbia, THE INNOCENT is at once a twisting, turning, emotionally-charged story, and a compelling tale of the choices we make and the repercussions that never leave us.

Review: Hmm, don’t know what to say, gals. I agree that the characters weren’t as developped as they could have been, but I liked how Harlan didn’t spend wasted time on too many details. I can’t stand it when a writer spends page after page with descriptions – it takes away from the book. I was surprised that Kimmy had a part in what was going on, but not being able to hear what Max Darrow had to say pissed me off. That didn’t seem fair. I wasn’t surprised by the two FBI agents – I knew it before Yates even argued with Muse. I knew it when they went to see that guy about the ‘stripper’ stuff and Yates had cut him off. An agent who wants to solve a case doesn’t interrupt like that. 

I did like the action near the end of the book. At one point, my breath caught, and I couldn’t wait to turn the page. I was glad that Kyra turned out to be the missing daughter, but I also thought that that point was a little too easy … almost redundant, especially when no one in Martha’s household had spoken to the nun, but no one had asked Kyra of that – that’s how I knew something was up. And I figured about Clark as well, the s.o.b. Vengeance makes you do stupid things, but I like how Matt gets back at him. I guess you could say the plot was put together ‘too nicely’ and it was too easy to figure out. I’m used to a bigger mystery than this. But, I can say that I might just give Harlan one more chance to amaze me, and if he does, I’ll read the rest of his work. If not, I’ll have two books from this author and no more.

Rating: .75

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2009/01/21/the-innocent-by-harlan-coben/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

