The Black Echo by Michael Connelly (‘Harry Bosch’ series Book #1)

Warner Books

Format: Mass Market Paperbound - Published: December 1, 2002 - 496 Pages - ISBN: 0446612731 - Published By: Warner Books

 

The Black Echo

by Michael Connelly

‘Harry Bosch’ series Book #1

For LAPD homicide cop Harry Bosch – hero, maverick, nighthawk – the body in the drainpipe at Mulholland dam is more than another anonymous statistic. This one is personal.

The dead man, Billy Meadows, was a fellow Vietnam “tunnel Rat” who fought side by side with him in a nightmare underground war that brought them to the depths of hell. Now, Bosch is about to relive the horrors of Nam. From a dangerous maze of blind alleys to a daring criminal heist beneath the city to the tortuous link that must be uncovered, his survival instincts will once again be tested to their limit.

Joining with an enigmatic female FBI agent, pitted against enemies within his own department, Bosch must make the agonizing choice betweeen justice and vengeance, as he tracks down a killer whose true face with shock him.

The Black Echo won the Edgar Award for Best First Mystery Novel awarded by the Mystery Writers of America. It is also available as an audiobook and eBook.

Review: I found it sagging a little in the middle, only a littl, like being stuck at a crossroads and not knowing which way to go or if you should continue altogether. I never guessed that she’s a part of the ‘big picture,’ but when Harry was reading every single name on that monument, I knew what he was thinking. I thought the plot was pretty neat, the way it related to his past, how he figured it out. If you ask me, that was pretty original, the whole tunnel-robbery thing. I don’t think I’ve read something like that before. I’ve already got Book #2, The Black Ice, sitting at home, waiting for me, in my TBR pile. I thought that the characters and their descriptions made each one an individual, some to hate, some to like, like any good book should. I, too, would like to see how the ‘higher-ups’ deal with him now. With everything that had happened to Harry in the past, I thought that The Black Echo might not have been the first book there, for a minute anyway. I don’t believe I’ve ever read a book like that as well, where the character had been through something as bad as that, then starting off where he is now … well, except for Lucas Davenport. He’s the only other character I know where the book doesn’t start at the ‘beginning.’ Not bad at all.

Rating:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2009/01/21/the-black-echo-by-michael-connelly-harry-bosch-series-book-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

