Plum Island by Nelson DeMille (‘John Corey’ series Book #1)

Warner Books

Format: Mass Market Paperbound - Published: May 1, 1998 - 574 Pages - ISBN: 0446605409 - Published By: Warner Books

 

Plum Island

by Nelson DeMille

‘John Corey’ series Book #1

The hair-raising suspense of The General’s Daughter … the wry wit of The Gold Coast … this is vintage Nelson DeMille at the peak of his originality and the height of his powers…

Wounded in the line of duty, NYPD homicide cop John Corey is convalescing in rural eastern Long Island when an attractive young couple he knows if found shot to death on the family patio. The victims were biologists at Plum Island, a research site rumored to be an incubator for germ warfare.

Suddenly, a local double murder takes on a shattering global implications – and thrusts Corey and two extraordinary women into a dangerous search for the secret of PLUM ISLAND

Review: I finished this book very late Sunday night, June 17th, 2007. First book in the series, and I really liked it!

When I found out that DeMille wrote The General’s Daughter, I did a little more research on his ‘John Corey’ series. It seems that he hadn’t wanted to write a series, but there were too many of his readers who wanted another John Corey book. He’d been afraid of his female readers; what they’d think of John as a character. He’s cocky, tactless, crude, and a real ass, but I adored him. I loved how his mind worked, how he processed what he saw, what he heard, what he read. As much of a jerk he can be, it made him who he is, and I don’t think I could have asked for a better character.

I thought Beth as a good equal for him. She gave back as good as she got, and I think John needed that.

I was glad that John met Emma. He needed her in more ways than the obvious. I think it made him a better person.

There was a twist in this plot, one that I didn’t see coming, and at first, I had the ‘yeah, right’ thought about it. But the more the direction of the story went that way, the more I believed and the more I liked the plot.

Wasn’t all that surprised by who the killer was, but I liked how John dealt with him and the situation. The action was great. I’m definitely getting the rest of the series.

Rating:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2009/01/21/plum-island-by-nelson-demille-john-corey-series-book-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

