Twilight by Stephenie Meyer (‘Twilight’ saga Book #1)

  Twilight  by Stephenie Meyer

‘Twilight’ saga Book #1

Reading level: Young Adult – Paperback: 544 pages – Publisher: Little, Brown Young Readers (September 6, 2006) – Language: English – ISBN-10: 0316015849 – ISBN-13: 978-0316015844

Back of the Book reads:

About three things I was absolutely positive.

First, Edward was a vampire.

Second, there was a part of him – and I didn’t know how dominant that part might be – that thirsted for my blood.

And third, I was unconditionally and irrevocably in love with him.

DEEPLY SEDUCTIVE AND EXTRAORDINARILY SUSPENSEFUL, TWILIGHT IS A LOVE STORY WITH A BITE.

Twilight at Amazon.com

Twilight at Chapters.ca

Twilight at Amazon.ca


1-Nov-08 to 2-Nov-08

Review: A fun, light read that’s not just for teens!

At first, I wasn’t sure what to make of Bella. As a seventeen-year-old with divorced parents, I thought her quite mature… considering she had pretty much fended for herself and her mother, who is very forgetful and eccentric. And now she’s going to visit her father in his small hometown of Forks, Washington. She doesn’t want to go – she hates it there – but she’s determined.

While she makes friends easily enough, but for some reason becomes fascinated with Edward Cullen. He, and his brothers and sisters, aren’t like the rest of the students, and for some strange reason, he seems to dislike her – extremely. And she can’t figure out what she’s done to be on the receiving end of such dislike. But what she doesn’t know is that Edward is attracted to her as well, and is fighting it; fighting it hard.

As their relationship grows, Bella figures out what Edward really is: a vampire. Does it frighten her? Not in the least. Edward doesn’t frighten her at all. She wants to know more about him and his family, for the more time they spend together, the more she’s falling in love with him. And he is falling in love with her.

But she’s determined to get to know him, and fighting it was futile for Edward. And so, he showed her – everything but feeding. I was kind of glad about that – may have been too soon for a first novel, I think.

It was fun watching their relationship grow. I think my favourite part was in the restaurant, where, no matter how much the waitress flirted, Edward only had eyes and attention for Bella. He reminded me very much of my husband, who does the exact same thing. He takes me to restaurants to spend time with me, away from home and kids, not flirt with the staff. I like that and can’t get enough of it.

I liked the idea of being in Bella’s head while you’re experiencing everything with the main character. You’ll find Edward just as complex as Bella does. The writing is clear and precise, easy to follow (almost a little too easy). However, I think there could have been more…

Bella has Edward and quite a few males in her class drooling over her, even though she doesn’t find herself pretty. I think the author should boost her self-esteem a little. Sure, everyone complains about their looks, but I was kind of getting tired of Bella’s reaction and non-reaction. Edward and his family are portrayed as ‘perfect’. I think the author should have added flaws for them… perfect becomes very boring very quickly and I was getting tired reading about perfect hair, perfect eyes, perfect body, perfect everything. I found that, by the middle of the book, I had to force myself a little too keep going; my attention was wandering. As a bookaholic, that’s not a good thing for me. I need substance, action, a little more intrigue, to keep me going.

Despite that, I thought it a light, fun read. Did I like it? Sure, for what it was. Will I continue with the series? More than likely… I’m curious to see where the series goes.

Rating:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2008/11/08/twilight-by-stephenie-meyer-twilight-saga-book-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] View original here: Twilight by Stephenie Meyer (’Twilight’ saga Book #1) […]


Leave a Reply

