Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon (‘Dark Hunter’ series Book #12)

Acheron (Dark-Hunter, Book 12) Acheron by Sherrilyn Kenyon

‘Dark-Hunter’ series Book #12

Hardcover: 736 pages – Publisher: St. Martin’s Press (August 5, 2008 ) – Language: English – ISBN-10: 0312362153 – ISBN-13: 978-0312362157

Hardcover Jacket reads:

At last, the most anticipated story in the blockbuster Dark-Hunter series has arrived. The never-before-revealed story of the Dark-Hunter leader, Acheron. He was made human in order to escape death, but in death he was reborn a god…

Eleven thousand years ago a god was born. Cursed into the body of a human, Acheron spent a lifetime in shame. However, his human death unleashes an unspeakable horror that almost destroyed the earth. Then, brought back against his will, Acheron became the sole defender of mankind.

Only it was never that simple. For centuries, he has fought for our survival and has hidden a past he never wanted revealed. Until a lone woman who refuses to be intimidated by hom threatens his very existence.

Now Acheron’s survival, and ours, depends on her, and old enemies reawaken and unite to kill them both.

War has never been more deadly … or more fun.

Acheron on Amazon.com

Acheron on Chapters.ca

Acheron on Amazon.ca


8-Aug-08 to 9-Aug-08

Review: No Way could this book have been better!

Boy, this answered every question I ever had about Ash. The man is a god, in every sense of the word. Now, I usually don’t buy hardcover, as a rule. I can’t afford it. But no way in hell was I waiting for paperback for this one. I think every Dark-Hunter fan out there waited too long as it is, LOL, myself included!

The more he was tortured, in any way possible, the more my heart broke. I sobbed through the first half of the book. My heart shattered every time he had to endure such onslaught. Every time my kids came out of the playroom, they saw me with red eyes, tears and a box of kleenex, no word of a lie. My daughter, 7, asked me why I read books that make me so sad. Oh, I can’t wait until she’s old enough to read this series.

And just the thought… If he hadn’t been through what he’d been through, he would not be the same Acheron we know and love. While we knew he was a God and know who his parents are, he is still unlike any God we’ve read. Selfishness runs thick in that bunch, but even as the God of Destruction, he is filled with compassion for everyone who are more or less defenseless. While it was humans who tortured him so thoroughly, still, he would protect right to the end. While I agree with some that it was a little much, I can understand why the book was written that way. I think, honestly, that if it hadn’t dragged on, we wouldn’t have understood Ash as well as we do now.

And I say he met his match in Tory. While continuing the hunt for Atlantis, swearing to prove her family weren’t just a bunch of crazies, she makes amazing discoveries, and it hurts Ash to have to discredit her, even though his actions are to protect the whole of the earth. Yet, he can’t forget her. He can’t see her future like he can most people, and it shakes him. He even turns to Savitar for advice, even though Sav isn’t supposed to tell him anything.

Tory and Ash are a truly perfect combo. While she had an inkling of what Ash may have suffered in his past, she finally understood why he is the way he is, even if it was horrifying to read, and her compassion and love for the man/God in front of her only grew.

Even scared, she is furious and fights back. No matter what she does, she does because of Ash. And I was truly hoping that Artemis would get the ass-whipping of her life. I just wish that she got more than what she got. But the series isn’t over – I can’t wait for her to finally get what’s coming to her. The more she treated Ash like a slave and nothing better, like something to be own, the more I yelled and cursed her, my fist balled tight while the other held the book. LOL, even my daughter told me to watch my mouth, LOL!

I think the best part of the book was when the gang showed up to back Ash, without question, just because he needed their help. While Ash thought he had ‘friends’, he truly didn’t know what he had until then. And if it hadn’t been for Tory being in his life, he still wouldn’t know it. No longer does he half to live his life alone.

Then the ending of the epilogue sent a shiver down my spine. My heart is aching for Nick, and I so hope – I pray – that he isn’t going into an alliance with Artemis. He is going to bite off more than he can chew, and I so hope that he and Ash will be able to team against her.

Rating:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2008/08/10/acheron-by-sherrilyn-kenyon-dark-hunter-series-book-12/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. […] reviewed by: Jackie’s review at Literary Escapism Maryse’s Book Blog Bear and Forbear A Bookaholic’s Review Literarily Paranormal Book Thingo var addthis_language = […]


Leave a Reply

