Ice Blue by Anne Stuart (‘Ice’ series Book #3)

Ice Blue Ice Blue by Anne Stuart

‘Ice’ series Book #3

Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages – Publisher: Mira (April 1, 2007) – Language: English – ISBN-10: 0778324788 – ISBN-13: 978-0778324782

Museum curator Summer Hawthorne considered the exquisite ice-blue ceramic bowl given to her by her beloved Japenese nanny a treasure of sentimental value – until somebody tried to kill her for it.

The priceless relic is about to ignite a global power struggle that must be stopped at all costs. It’s a desperate situation, and international operative Takashi O’Brien has received his directive: everybody is expendable. Everybody. Especially the woman who is getting dangerously under his skin as the lethal game crosses the Pacific to the remote and beautiful mountains of Japan, where the truth can be as seductive as it is deadly…

Ice Blue at Amazon.com

Ice Blue at Chapters.ca

Ice Blue at Amazon.ca


3-Jun-08 to 4-Jun-08

Review: Terrific… but I had a hard time with this one.

I liked Summer. A strong-willed woman, determined, after the kind of upbringing she had, to be her own boss and to keep away from those who treat her like dirt. I get her need for individuality and freedom after what she’d been through. I just wish there was more in the way of explanation than just skimming over it. She continuously wears black, and after reading about her past, I could understand why. But enough was enough.

I had a rather hard time with Taka. He’d had his orders concerning Summer, only completed them halfway, and it was really strange. I had a hard time getting passed what he did to Summer. To be half done and change your mind? If I was in Summer’s shoes – I’d have been so out of there. That she fell in love with him is a treat, they work nicely together as a couple, but I don’t know if I’d still be in love with him after that. It’s a rather difficult situation – one that I really hope I won’t have to read again. While I’m used to reading the heros treating the heroines with lies, manipulations and threats, I wasn’t ready for the ‘hands-on’ that Taka did to Summer, and it was chilling. I didn’t like it. While there’s a good reason for it, and the sizzle between them grows, I still didn’t like how that played out.

The novel was excellent, regardless of how I felt about the characters. Plenty of action and suspense, full of twists, and while there was plenty of heat, I had a hard time getting passed that one blip. To get into it further would spoil it for those intending to read it, and I won’t do that. Suffice it to say that it is the only reason why I can’t give it a full 5-star rating. And I found the ending left a few holes – no explanation from Taka why it took him almost two months to get to Summer. It was like showing up would be enough. Wasn’t enough for me.

Rating:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2008/06/05/ice-blue-by-anne-stuart-ice-series-book-3/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

