High Noon by Nora Roberts

High Noon High Noon by Nora Roberts

Paperback: 496 pages – Publisher: Jove; Reprint edition (May 27, 2008 ) – Language: English – ISBN-10: 0515144681 – ISBN-13: 978-0515144680

Police Lieutenant Phoebe MacNamara found her calling at an early age, when a violently unstable man broke into her family’s home, trapping and terrorizing them for hours. Now she’s Savannah’s top hostage negotiator, and she puts her life on the line every day to defuse powder-keg situations.

After watching her talk one of his employees off a roof ledge, Duncan Swift is committed to keeping this intriguing, take-charge woman in his life. Phoebe’s used to working solo, but she’s finding that no amount of negotiation can keep Duncan at arm’s length. Especially when a man throws a hood over Phoebe’s head and brutally assaults her – in her own precinct house – and threatening messages begin appearing on her doorstep. With Duncan backing her up every step of the way, she is determined to establish contact with the faceless tormentor who is intent on making her a hostage to fear – before she becomes the final showdown.

High Noon at Amazon.com

High Noon at Chapters.ca

High Noon at Amazon.ca


30-May-08 to 3-Jun-08
 
Review: Pretty good by not her best work…
 
I liked the characters, especially Ma Bee and Duncan. Ma Bee understands Duncan like no other – the only mother figure he’d ever known. Duncan is a take charge kind of man, one who does what he wants when he wants, and pursues Phoebe like a pitbull – jaw locked and refusing to let go. Phoebe needed him to balance her, and I’m glad they found each other. And Carly, Phoebe’s 7-year-old daughter – very much like my own 7-year-old daughter. The only difference is my daughter likes numbers, LOL!
 
I liked the plot, even if there were loose ends. It’s not very often when you have a hostage negotiator as the main character. I liked how it all played out. I’d have liked to see Duncan settly into Phoebe’s house, them getting married, more about Phoebe’s mother as well. And her trademark is all over this book – all the descriptions she gives buildings, gardens, etc…, they suck you into the story. You’re seeing the building like you’re standing in front of it. You smell the flowers in the garden. And it was pure delight how the very flower that Duncan first gave Phoebe is my absolute fave flower.
 
However, the climax of the story happens in the last chapter – something I don’t ever remember NR doing before; where the climax and closure of the story happens in the last chapter – about 10 pages. Lots of dialogue, lots of action and suspense that gives it the perfect height of the story, the tension everyone feels in the situation. But all crammed into the last few pages of the last chapter? Come on! I’d have liked to have seen them settle, maybe a little more something from Arnie.
 
I really enjoyed how the characters came together I found that a lot of the scenes between the characters were so much like my family; ie: for instance, the banter between Duncan and his best friend’s wife, Louise. They’re banter is very close to the banter my husband has with my best friend – and I got a really good kick out of that! The family closeness – how they treat each other – is very much like my own family, and I like it so much when NR makes me feel like I’m part of the characters’ families.
 
But the ending… that’s the only reason why this doesn’t get my usual NR 5-star rating.
 
Rating:
The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2008/06/03/high-noon-by-nora-roberts/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

