The Mark by Jason Pinter (‘Henry Parker’ series Book #1)

The Mark The Mark by Jason Pinter

‘Henry Parker’ series Book #1

Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages – Publisher: Mira (June 26, 2007) – Language: English – ISBN-10: 0778324893 – ISBN-13: 978-0778324898

Right as I’m about to die, I realize all the myths are fake. There’s not white light at the end of a tunnel. My life isn’t flashing before my eyes. All I can think about is how much I want to live.

I moved to New York City a month ago to become the best journalist the world had ever seen. To find the greatest stories never told. And now here I am – Henry Parker, twenty-four years old and weary beyond rational thought, a bullet one trigger pull from ending my life.

I can’t run. Running is all Amanda and I have done for the past seventy-two hours. And I’m tired. Tired of knowing the truth and not being able to tell it.

Five minutes ago I thought I had the story all figured out. I knew that both of these men – one an FBI agent, the other an assassin – wanted me dead, but for very different reasons.

If I die tonight – more people will die tomorrow.

The Mark at Amazon.com

The Mark at Chapters.ca

The Mark at Amazon.ca


4-May-08 to 26-May-08

Review: Excellent debut novel!

I saw The Guilty on the shelf at Coles when it came out and read the synopsis. It sounded intriguing. Plus, the quotes from authors I’ve read helped as well, so I picked it up. I hadn’t realized it was the second book, so I picked up the first, The Mark. Am I ever glad I did!

And I had to agree with the reviews. The book is a gripping page-turner and I had a hard time putting it down. I felt bad for Henry, being stuck in the position he was in. While most of us would turn away and run for help, he jumped in with both feet – then had to run for his life. Henry is a good-guy through and through, with a mind that works quickly, making decisions I don’t think I’d ever be able to make. He goes through a lot in seventy-two hours.

The characters involved really put the pedal to the metal, and there’s no letting up. Plenty of action to keep a reader on their toes and their brains thinking. While the already know the who and how, it’s the ‘package’ that keeps a reader guessing.

An excellent debut novel. I immediately picked up The Guilty … I’m already on chapter 7, LOL!

Rating:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2008/05/27/the-mark-by-jason-pinter-henry-parker-series-book-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

