To Die For by Linda Howard (‘Blair Mallory’ series Book #1)

A Novel  To Die For by Linda Howard

‘Blair Mallory’ series Book #1

Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages Publisher: Ballantine Books (December 28, 2004) Language: English ISBN-10: 0345476255 ISBN-13: 978-0345476258

Blair Mallory lives the good life. She’s pretty, confident, and the owner of a thriving upscale fitness center. But in the shadow of success, a troubled member of the club develops a strange fixation on her, imitating her style and dress. Matters take a darker turn when the look-alike is shot dead – and Blair witnesses the horror.

As the media speculate on the tawdry details of the homicide and push Blair into the harsh spotlight, she locks horns with police lieutenant Wyatt Bloodsworth – he wants to lead an investigation without interference, while she is determined to probe the dead woman’s life on her own. But when someone begins to menace Blair with mounting threats, Wyatt takes notice: Was this murder indeed a lethal case of mistaken identity – and was Blair the intended victim?

To Die For at Amazon.com

To Die For at Chapters.ca

To Die For at Amazon.ca


11-May-08 to 13-May-08

Review: I’m having mixed feelings about this book. Is that good or bad?

I liked Blair – to a certain extent. Yes, she’s a strong woman who goes the extra mile to get what she wants, and works hard for it. When Wyatt accused her of being ‘fluffy’, to which she became furious and adamantly denying it, I thought it was an apt description of her. As she is the narrator of the book, the way she talks and thinks… the only word I can use to describe it is ‘fluffy’.

I liked Wyatt. Strong, cares right down to the bone, I liked the way he handled everything – from crime scene to hospital scene to family scene to being alone with Blair. There definitely was spark between them – something that made them ‘equal’ and ‘perfect’ for each other, even if he did seem barbaric every now and then.

Her ex, Jason, is as dense, self-centered and self-absorbed as she says.

I liked the plot twist – I hadn’t seen that coming whatsoever. I wouldn’t have thought it was possible, but it works brilliantly. However, I wish the author wouldn’t have cramed the climax and ending in the last chapter and the epilogue! I don’t like that – in fact, I hate it! It’s not fair for the reader to sit through the suspense, trying to figure out who could possibly want to hurt Blair, come up with a way to take the reader completely by surprise, then slam them with the entire climax and ending in one chapter – 14 pages total. I’d have like to see more – maybe a bigger confrontation between Blair and Debra, Blair’s ex-husband’s wife. I needed more, as a reader, and am disappointed that there isn’t. While the ending works out to the good, there was not enough substance, not enough ‘oomph’.

I thought the love scenes subtle but good, the action was great, the way Blair connects to people, especially her family. I had good laughs as well. I adored the banter between Blair and Wyatt – I do believe they are perfect for each other. But the ending is sticking like a thorn in my side. I can’t give it a perfect rating – but close.

Rating:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2008/05/13/to-die-for-by-linda-howard-blair-mallory-series-book-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

