The Duke and I by Julia Quinn (‘Bridgerton’ series Book #1)

 The Duke and I     The Duke and I  by Julia Quinn ‘Bridgerton’ series Book #1

Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages Publisher: Avon (January 5, 2000) Language: English ISBN-10: 0380800829 ISBN-13: 978-0380800827

Simon Basset, the irresistible Duke of Hastings, has hatched a plan to keep himself free from the town’s marriage-minded society mothers. He pretends to be engaged to the lovely Daphne Bridgerton. After all, it isn’t as if the brooding rogue has any real plans to marry—though there is something about the alluring Miss Bridgerton that sets Simon’s heart beating a bit faster. And as for Daphne, surely the clever debutante will attract some very worthy suitors now that is seems a duke has declared her desirable. But as Daphne waltzes across ballroom after ballroom with Simon, she soon forgets that their courtship is a complete sham. And now she has to do the impossible and keep herself from losing her heart and soul completely to the handsome hell-raiser who has sworn off marriage forever! 

24-Feb-08 to 25-Feb-08

Review: Oh, did I ever enjoy this one!

I thought it was great! I truly did! I liked the characters – their quick and witty repartee. Daphne was not a ditz in any way; witty, intelligent, strong in mind as well as body (you’ll get that when you read it, LOL!). She broke through Simon’s shell and I don’t think anyone else could have. Simon – I felt bad for him. No child should ever be treated as he was. He grows up to be a very intelligent and well-spoken man, just as witty, and I liked his manner. He shouldn’t have lied as he did to Daphne; he should have trusted her right off the bat with what had happened instead of her finding out as she did. A couple of actions scenes made the book even more interesting – especially when they concerned Daphne’s brother, Anthony. I really liked how it came about, especially the ending. His reflection of his ‘being scared to death of having children’ reminded me of myself. And I was really happy he admitted it.

Hyacinth, the youngest of the family, is truly a wonder, what you read of her. As intelligent as she is now, I can’t wait to see what she’ll be like when she grows up.

And what we find out about Lady Whistledown in the epilogue has me wondering who she truly is. I can’t wait to find out. This is truly a series I look forward to continuing.

Rating: .5

Published in: on February 27, 2008 at 8:04 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2008/02/27/the-duke-and-i-by-julia-quinn-bridgerton-series-book-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

