The Ice Queen by Alice Hoffman

 

The Ice Queen     The Ice Queen by Alice Hoffman

Hardcover: 224 pages Publisher: Back Bay Books UK (Jan 3 2006) Language: English ISBN-10: 0316154385 ISBN-13: 978-0316154383

Be careful what you wish for. A small town librarian lives a quiet life without much excitement. One day, she mutters an idle wish and, while standing in her house, is struck by lightning. But instead of ending her life, this cataclysmic event sparks it into a new beginning.   She goes in search of Lazarus Jones, a fellow survivor who was struck dead, then simply got up and walked away. Perhaps this stranger who has seen death face to face can teach her to live without fear. When she finds him, he is her opposite, a burning man whose breath can boil water and whose touch scorches. As an obsessive love affair begins between them, both are forced to hide their most dangerous secrets–what turned one to ice and the other to fire. 

3-Feb-08 to 4-Feb-08

Review: I can tell you right off the bat that this isn’t the kind of book I’m used to reading. However, I truly did like it. I had a hard time trying to get through the beginning, mainly because of the character’s despression and frame of mind. I’ve seen depression first-hand (my best friend) and know what it can do to a person and the people around them. And it’s not what that person does to come out of her shell, but the people around you. Just like this character. I honestly believe that had she not been struck by lightning, her life may have not turned out the way it did. I think it took that cataclysmic to help the start of unravel. I’m glad that she got to know her brother; I’m glad that she had Larazus for the length of time, and I’m glad that Nina helped her completely free of her shell. I believe that if it hadn’t been for Nina, I don’t think this story would have turned out the same way.

And as weird as this seems, I didn’t mind it much, but did anyone else notice that the main character, whoever she is, didn’t have a name? Not once was her name mentioned in this book. Although that struck me odd, it truly didn’t have an effect to the story – just something that I noticed at the end of the novel.

A good read!

Rating:

Published in: on February 5, 2008 at 4:04 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2008/02/05/the-ice-queen-by-alice-hoffman/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

