Dead Irish by John Lescroart (‘Dismas Hardy’ series Book #1)

 

     Dead Irish by John Lescroart

‘Dismas Hardy’ series Book #1

Paperback: 432 pages Publisher: Signet (MM); Reprint edition (Feb 1 2005) Language: English ISBN-10: 0451214277 ISBN-13: 978-0451214270

In his new life as a bartender at the Little Shamrock, Dismas Hardy is just hoping for a little peace. He’s left both the police force and his law career behind. Unfortunately it’s not as easy to leave behind the memory of a shattering personal loss-but for the time being, he can always take the edge off with a stiff drink and round of darts. But when the news of Eddie Cochran’s death reaches him, Hardy is propelled back into all the things he was trying to escape. Now he must untangle a web of old secrets and raw passions, for the sake of Eddie’s pregnant widow Frannie-and for the others whose lives may still be at risk. 

25-Jan-08 to 27-Jan-08

Review: Hmm… not a bad book! Where shall I begin…

As I was doing a search for new releases for January, I came across Suspect by John Lescroart. It sounded really good, so I checked up on it, wanting to make sure that it wasn’t part of a series. Sure enough, Suspect was a stand-alone novel, but I came across this one as well. It’s the first in the series, and a few reviews postes, especially the one that I found helpful, had me wondering if I should give this one a shot. See, the person stated that, even though this is the first in the series, the series gets way better as you move along. So I wondered, why not give it a try? Sounded interesting enough, and I read the excerpt on Lescroart’s website, so I thought: “Why not give it a try? Coles has it in stock to boot…” So that’s what I did.

It wasn’t bad, although not all that exciting. Sure, one review complained that you don’t get the ‘shattering personal loss’ until midway through the book, but it didn’t bother me as much. It made me cry when I finally got to it.

The plot wasn’t bad either. I liked how it came about, especially in Hardy’s head. There wasn’t much action, but what there was worked well. I usually really like lots of action in a suspence novel, but truthfully, this one didn’t need it.

What I truly liked about this novel, is how the main character, Dismas Hardy (Diz for short), battled with himself in this novel. You truly get a sense of self out of him, how he felt when the ‘shattering personal loss’ hit him, how it affected him, why he is today the way he is, and wondering how his life is changing now. Truly excellent how the author touched you through the character.

I’ll have to give credit to that reviewer. I will most definitely be reading the rest of the series.

Rating:

Published in: on January 28, 2008 at 3:31 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2008/01/28/dead-irish-by-john-lescroart-dismas-hardy-series-book-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

