The Rapids by Carla Neggers

 

The Rapids     The Rapids by Carla Neggers

in line with Night’s Landing and Cold Ridge

Mass Market Paperback: 384 pages Publisher: Mira (May 1 2006) Language: English ISBN-10: 0778323994 ISBN-13: 978-0778323990  

She has no time to take a break after playing a key role in the arrest of dangerous fugitive Nicholas Janssen. But with Janssen fighting extradition from his Dutch prison, U.S. diplomatic security agent Maggie Spencer isn’t about to back off–even when U.S. marshal Rob Dunnemore turns up asking some very tough questions. Maggie has no reason to trust Rob, especially when she learns he has a personal interest: he was almost killed, thanks to Janssen.

Then Maggie and Rob discover the body of one of Janssen’s associates floating in a canal, and they realize there’s another killer on the loose. Determined to tie the case up, Maggie heads to upstate New York following a questionable lead. Knowing she’s holding back on him, Rob’s right on her tail. And now she has no choice but to trust him. Because a trap has been set and they have both walked right into it.

10-Jan-08 to 11-Jan-08

Review: Not bad … not bad at all!

Turns out I should have read Night’s Landing and Cold Ridge before I read this one, but I didn’t know that they tied in together. I may have understood the characters a little better if I had.

I got enough of the sense of Maggie so that I understood her, and although I did feel something between her and Rob, I can’t say it was a sizzle.

The plot wasn’t bad, but I didn’t find the mystery that I’d been expecting after reading the synopsis.

I do need to stress, however, that I need to read Night’s Landing and Cold Ridge before I can comment further on this one. It’s like an on-going plot with characters I should’ve already known about. I’ll give this one another chance once I’ve read the other two… need to get the other two, never mind read it…

Rating: .75

Published in: on January 23, 2008 at 3:58 pm  Comments (2)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2008/01/23/the-rapids-by-carla-neggers/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. I just posted an interview with Carla on my blog, http://stacybuckeye.wordpress.com/2009/01/23/9-in-09-with-carla-neggers/
    She was great!

    • Terrific! Thanks for posting the link with your comment. Carla is one of my fave authors. I’m hoping to be able to interview authors for my blog; that would be really great. Perhaps in the future. Once again, thanks Stacy!


Leave a Reply

