Slow Burn by Julie Garwood (‘Buchanan’ series Book #5)

 

A Novel     Slow Burn by Julie Garwood

‘Buchanan’ series Book #5

Hardcover: 368 pages Publisher: Ballantine Books (Aug 30 2005) Language: English ISBN-10: 0345453840 ISBN-13: 978-0345453846

Skillfully blending searing suspense, characters with grit and heart, and a dynamic plot, bestselling author Julie Garwood has written another electrifying novel of romantic suspense.

Kate MacKenna doesn’t have a bad bone in her body–or an enemy in the world. A woman who barely knew her father and has just lost her mother, Kate is a loving sister, a savvy business owner, and an unpretentious beauty who radiates kindness. So why are bombs igniting everywhere she goes?

The first explosion brings her face-to-face with a handsome Charleston police detective. The second one sends her into the arms of her best friend’s brother–a Boston cop who’s a little too reckless and way too charming for comfort. But Dylan Buchanan won’t let emotion prevent him from doing his job: Someone is trying to kill Kate, and Dylan is the only one standing between her and the monster who wants her dead. For Kate to understand the danger, she must learn all about desire–desire for pleasure, desire for power, and someone’s desire to kill.  

11-Jan-08 to 14-Jan-08

Review: By about a third of the way through, I was positive I should have met these characters before.

Halfway through, I was certain of it. Going to my best pal, Jennifer’s, over the weekend, I found out that this novel is fifth in this series.

Well…

I thought it wasn’t bad. I’m sure if I’d have known the characters from the previous novels, most would have made more sense. But what I knew of them I liked. Each one had their own personality, making them each unique. Dylan would make me laugh on occasion with the way he would tease Kate.

The plot was pretty good. Garwood got me – I thought I knew who it was, but I was only half right.

Rating:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2008/01/23/slow-burn-by-julie-garwood-buchanan-series-book-5/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

