Twenty-Seven Bones by Jonathan Nasaw (‘E.L. Pender’ series Book #3)


Twenty-Seven Bones     Twenty-Seven Bones by Jonathan Nasaw

‘E.L. Pender’ series Book #3)

Hardcover: 368 pages Publisher: Atria; 1 edition (Jun 1 2004) Language: English ISBN-10: 0743446534 ISBN-13: 978-0743446532  

The brilliant author of Fear Itself pulls readers into an intricate web of ritual killings orchestrated by an evil pair of murderers who always manage to be one step ahead of the law.

Former FBI Special Agent E.L. Pender may be retired, but he jumps at the chance to help solve a particularly gruesome series of crimes in the U.S. Virgin Islands.

This is no ordinary case, seeing as the right hand on each body in the string of murders is missing. The police want to keep the existence of a serial killer under wraps; they hope to solve the crime before a stampede sets in. Meanwhile, Pender is convinced the killer must be the husband of the last victim and sets out to capture him — but he’s only partly right. The husband is connected to the case, but the real murderers are a cunning husband-and-wife team of archeologists who believe that if they breathe in their victim’s last breath they will live forever.

Never before has Pender come up against such savvy, diabolical opponents. From one trail of dead ends to another, readers will feel Pender’s fever to prevent more murders from occurring…and his sheer panic when he can’t. Twenty-Seven Bones is that most quintessential of thrilling reads, providing a visceral experience of chills and excitement on every page.

Review: First, thank you, Jocelynn (Coles) for recommending this one. It wasn’t a bad book!

Although I found the action and thinking scenes well done, I sort of felt … well, detached (for lack of a better word), as I read it. Okay, the plot I think, isn’t terribly original, but the way it came about was.

But none, and I mean none, of the characters jumped out at me or stayed with me once I finished the book, and that includes the main character, Edgar Lee Pender. I didn’t feel any of them are worth remembering. No profound, deep-seeded feelings, only logical thinking. For me, it wasn’t enough.

I didn’t know this was the third book in a series until I looked the author up on Fantastic Fiction. I didn’t get that ‘lost’ feeling when I started the book. Now I have read some series of books where, after you pass the second or third book, they become less interesting. Could be that maybe this series is the same? The praise for the first two books has me thinking I may give them a try.

It wasn’t a bad book, or a waste of time, but it’s not one worth remembering.


Published in: on January 22, 2008 at 5:32 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: