Once a Thief by Kay Hooper (‘Quinn/Thief’ series Book #1)

 

Once a Thief     Once a Thief by Kay Hooper

‘Quinn/Thief’ series Book #1

Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages Publisher: Bantam; Revised edition (Oct 1 2002) Language: English ISBN-10: 0553585118 ISBN-13: 978-0553585117

With a priceless collection at stake…Is everything for the taking?

It had taken centuries for Max Bannister’s family to acquire their treasures, and now he’s been asked to risk his collection as bait for a master criminal. For his own reasons, Max allows a public exhibition, and to protect the family fortune he must rely on the skills of his half brother—a world-class security expert—and his smart and savvy exhibit director, Morgan West.

But almost immediately, Morgan comes face-to-face with the mysterious Quinn, Interpol’s most wanted thief for the past decade—and a man who makes it very clear he has an eye on the Bannister collection. And if that’s not enough, Morgan begins to realize that she’s surrounded by secrets and lies, and that someone very close to Max is moving behind the scenes, intent on murder as well as robbery…someone whose ultimate plan threatens to ruin them all. 

Review: Originally, I had purchased the second novel, Always a Thief, in hardcover for a really great deal – $5(CDN) brand new, straight from Coles. It sat on my TBR shelf for nearly a year because i have this incurable need to read series’ and such books in order.

I finally managed to get my hands on this one without needing to order it, then felt this urgency to read it.

And I’m glad I did!

I thought the characters genuine and intuitive. I’m still trying to decide which was my fave and, laughingly, I’m leaning toward Bear, Storm’s cat. But I liked Storm’s straight-forward attitude as well as Morgan’s thought process and everything about the ‘infamous’ Quinn.

I liked the plot, what there was of it, knowing that it continued in the second novel. I thought it was well played.

What really intrigued me was the play-by-play between the characters. Especially the deceit, the lies, the manipulations and the omittances of facts that were all twisted about that really pinned me to this book. I read them both in a day and a half.

You can’t help not being able to put this book down. The more lies and manipulations and the more truth you learn, the more you’re pulled into reading.

The descriptions are a sure way of learning who’s who, what’s what, and you get a real sense of the surroundings.

I liked it!

Rating: .5

Published in: on January 22, 2008 at 4:13 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://bookaholicsreview.wordpress.com/2008/01/22/once-a-thief-by-kay-hooper-quinnthief-series-book-1/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

